Obtaining Passenger Carrier Operating Authority (except Taxicabs)

How do I obtain authority to operate a sedan, van, limousine, or bingo service in Maryland?

You must complete and submit an "Application for Authority to Operate as a Carrier of Passengers by Motor Vehicles in Intrastate Commerce in Maryland," along with all other documents and information required. You may obtain an application packet with complete instructions for filing by clicking on the link "Authority to Operate As an Intrastate Carrier of Passengers" under Applications and Forms or contacting the Transportation Division of the Public Service Commission of Maryland, 6 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 at 410-767-8128.

What name should I use to file my application?

You may use your own name, a Trade Name, or the name of your Corporation or Limited Liability Company. You must register a Trade Name or file Articles of Incorporation for a Corporation or Limited Liability Company with the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation.

How long does it take before I am granted operating authority once I apply?

Typically, once you have submitted your application and all required documents, processing time is between four to six weeks.

Can I start operating my business while I'm waiting to be approved?

No, you must wait until you are granted operating authority by this Commission before operating your for-hire business.

Do I need to purchase a vehicle before I am granted approval (operating authority) for my company?

Yes, you must own or lease an insured vehicle before your operating authority can be granted.

Do I need to submit any special documentation if my vehicle is a stretch limousine?

Yes, you will need to submit proof to the Transportation Division that your vehicle is a stretch limousine. Proof usually takes the form of a notation on the bill of sale. The vehicle must also meet the definition of a limousine under the MVA law, which requires that the vehicle contain certain specified amenities and modifications.

Will every person who drives my for-hire vehicle need a passenger-for-hire license?

Yes. If you or someone else will be operating a for-hire vehicle that transports 15 or fewer persons for-hire, you, and each person that will be driving the for-hire vehicle, will need to obtain a passenger-for-hire license from this Commission. You may obtain an application packet by clicking on the link "For-Hire Driver's License Application" under Applications and Forms.

Obtaining Insurance

I already have personal automobile insurance on my vehicle, why do I need more insurance?

Your insurance must meet the Commission's minimum insurance requirements set out in your application packet, and must allow you to transport persons for-hire.

What are the minimum insurance requirements set by the Commission?

The minimum per accident insurance required for each motor vehicle with a seating capacity of **seven** passengers or less is:

- (a) \$50,000 for injury to any one person, \$100,000 for injuries to two or more persons, and \$20,000 for property damage; or
- (b) \$120,000 combined single limit.

The minimum per accident insurance required for each motor vehicle with a seating capacity of **eight to 15 passengers** is:

- (a) \$75,000 for injury to any one person, \$200,000 for injuries to two or more persons, and \$50,000 for property damage; or
- (b) \$250,000 combined single limit.

Where can I obtain insurance for a for-hire vehicle?

You can obtain insurance for your for-hire vehicle from a private insurer or the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund (MAIF). You may contact the Maryland Insurance Administration for a list of insurance companies authorized to insure for-hire vehicles in Maryland. Once your operating authority has been granted by this Commission, you will need to provide continuing proof of insurance by submitting an updated Insurance Certificate annually.

Do I need Workers' Compensation insurance coverage or a Certificate of Compliance if I am a sole proprietor operating the vehicle myself?

Workers' Compensation insurance coverage, a Certificate of Compliance, or an Exclusion Form is required. You may contact the Workers' Compensation Commission at 410-864-5297 or outside of the Baltimore Metropolitan area at 1-800-492-0479 for assistance.

Obtaining Tags and Decals for Your Vehicle

How do I get tags for my vehicle?

Submit a Passenger Vehicle List (aka a Vehicle Addition / Deletion Form) to the Transportation Division with the required Insurance Certificate and Maryland State Inspection Certificate. The Passenger Vehicle List will be approved and stamped with the appropriate endorsement for the type of tags that MVA is to issue for that vehicle. You will take the approved, stamped Passenger Vehicle List, Maryland State Inspection Certificate, and any MVA documents to the MVA to have the appropriate tags issued.

What is a Passenger Vehicle List?

A Passenger Vehicle List or Vehicle Addition /Deletion Form is the form on which you list your vehicle(s) that you plan to operate in your for-hire business.

Why do I need to submit a Maryland State Inspection Certificate for my vehicle?

You will need to submit a Maryland State Inspection Certificate to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to obtain the necessary "for-hire" tags from the MVA.

Once I obtain the appropriate tags from the MVA, do I need anything additional before operating the vehicle(s) for-hire?

Yes, you will need to obtain a decal from this Commission showing that the vehicle is an authorized passenger-for-hire vehicle. Additionally, the vehicle will need to be inspected twice each year: once by a PSC inspector; and once at a certified Maryland State Inspection Facility.

Operating Your Passenger-For-Hire Business

What area or jurisdictions will I be allowed to operate in once I am approved (granted operating authority)?

A Charter/Contract Passenger Carrier will be granted authority to operate to all points and places within Maryland. If you plan to operate in the Washington metropolitan area which consists of Washington DC, Montgomery and Prince George's Counties in Maryland, and Arlington and Fairfax Counties in Virginia, you will also need authority from the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission (WMATC). For WMATC Authority, call 202-331-1671.

Will I be able to operate at BWI Thurgood Marshall Airport once I am approved (granted operating authority)?

You may drop off passengers at BWI Thurgood Marshall Airport but you are not permitted to pick up passengers there without the required permit from the Maryland Aviation Administration. To obtain a permit, contact the Maryland Aviation Administration at 410-859-7033.

Can I charge whatever rates I want to charge?

Yes. You must submit a rate sheet listing all rates you will charge for points and places you intend to operate within Maryland. Once your authority has been granted, you may change your rates by filing written notice of any change in rates thirty (30) days in advance of the effective change.

What is a rate sheet?

A rate sheet lists charges (called tariffs) that you will charge customers for transportation between points and places within Maryland. The rate sheet may specify point-to-point, mileage, or an hourly rate.

What information must I include on my rate sheet?

You must include your name, your company or trade name (if applicable), business address, telephone number, date, and owner's signature on your rate sheet.